Nachrichten

Zurück

Mit der Insolvenz des Reiseanbieters Thomas Cook am 23. September 2019 sind mehr als 600.000 Reisende in ihrem Urlaub gestrandet und weltweit 22.000 Arbeitsplätze gefährdet. Aufgrund dieser Dimensionen hat das Europäische Parlament am 24. Oktober 2019 mit klarer Mehrheit eine Resolution zum besseren Schutz der Betroffenen angenommen. Am 6. November 2019 stand die für den Binnenmarkt zuständige Kommissarin Elżbieta Bieńkowska dem zuständigen Verkehrsausschuss Rede und Antwort.

Nachrichten

Zurück

Welche Themen und Herausforderungen stellen sich in der europäischen KonsumentInnenpolitik in der kommenden Legislaturperiode? Dieser Frage ging eine hochkarätige Veranstaltung des Netzwerkes der Europäischen Verbraucherzentren (ECC), die am 6. November 2019 im Norwegen-Haus in Brüssel stattfand, nach.

Nachrichten

Zurück

Um die mit stärkeren Schwankungen verbundene Stromproduktion durch erneuerbare Energien besser nutzen zu können, will die Europäische Kommission die Nachfrage mittels flexibler Stromtarife wirksamer danach ausrichten. Aus Sicht der Arbeiterkammer bergen diese Tarifmodelle die Gefahr einer „Zwei-Klassen-Energiegesellschaft“.

Nachrichten

Zurück

Seit Jahren klagen VertreterInnen aus den neuen Mitgliedstaaten, dass einige der in Osteuropa erhältlichen Produkte aus schlechteren Zutaten hergestellt werden als die unter demselben Namen in Westeuropa verkauften. Eine umfangreiche Untersuchung der Kommission bestätigt nun unterschiedliche Rezepturen in den Mitgliedstaaten, aber keine generelle Benachteiligung gewisser Länder Europas.

Publikationen

Zurück

Die Wettbewerbspolitik ist ein wesentlicher Teil der Wirtschaftspolitik. Sie hat in einer auf Marktwirtschaft beruhenden Wirtschaftsordnung wettbewerbliche Rahmenbedingungen vorzugeben, die gewährleisten, dass der Wettbewerb zwischen den Wirtschaftsakteuren funktioniert und wettbewerbswidriges Verhalten abgestellt und sanktioniert wird.

 

 

Für weitere Fragen steht Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung

Helmut Gahleitner

Kontakt per E-Mail

Ulrike Ginner

Kontakt per E-Mail

Publikationen

Zurück

Durch die Verbraucherkreditrichtlinie (VKrRL) wurde das Verbraucherschutzniveau im Kreditbereich insgesamt erhöht, weil zentrale Bereiche wie Vertragsinformationen dadurch erstmals konkret gesetzlich erfasst wurden. Um der Effektivität des Verbraucherschutzes in der Praxis mehr Bedeutung zu geben, gilt es aber, in einigen Bereichen die Bestimmungen nachzuschärfen bzw zusätzliche Regelungen einzuführen, etwa hinsichtlich des Anwendungsbereiches und der Kreditwerbung.

Für weitere Fragen steht Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung

Benedikta Rupprecht

Kontakt per E-Mail

Christian Prantner

Kontakt per E-Mail

Nachrichten

Zurück

Der Handy-Akku ist die Geißel der modernen Welt. Seine kurze Lebensdauer lässt uns angestrengt nach dem Ladegerät suchen, wenn der Saft aus ist. Und fast aus der Haut fahren, ist der richtige Stecker nicht parat. Nervig ist das besonders für iPhone-BesitzerInnen: Denn die Geräte lassen sich nur mit eigenen Steckern aufladen. Warum eigentlich?

Publikationen

Zurück

Virtually all sectors, institutions and digital users are affected by the innovative commercial potential of big data. Over time vast amounts of object data will become available for marketing and academic research, as well as purposes such as government planning and oversight, and will no longer need to be laboriously collected. By analysing user behaviour, standardised products, services and even prices can be customised.

Für weitere Fragen steht Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung

Daniela Zimmer

Kontakt per E-Mail

Nachrichten

Zurück

Am 26. März 2019 hat das EU-Parlament mit sehr deutlicher Mehrheit (579 Ja, 33 Nein, 43 Enthaltungen) dem Richtlinienvorschlag über Verbandsklagen zugestimmt. Aus Sicht der Arbeiterkammer sowie des Europäischen VerbraucherInnenverbandes (BEUC) ist diese Entwicklung ein wichtiger Schritt, um die Rechte der VerbraucherInnen zu stärken.  

Nachrichten

Zurück

Am 6. Dezember 2018 beschloss der Rechtsausschuss in einer Abstimmung, dass auch Europas KonsumentInnen Sammelklagen einbringen können sollen, wenn sie kollektiv geschädigt wurden. Dies ist eine erfreuliche Entwicklung, die die AK ausdrücklich begrüßt. Auch in der Sache der „grenzübergreifenden Umwandlung, Verschmelzung und Spaltung“ von Unternehmen konnte ein sehr gutes Ergebnis für Europas ArbeitnehmerInnen erzielt werden.

News

Back

The bankruptcy of the travel agency Thomas Cook on 23rd September 2019 left more than 600,000 travellers stranded at their holiday destinations and put 22,000 jobs at risk worldwide. Due to these dimensions, the European Parliament on 24th October 2019 adopted a resolution on the negative effects of Thomas Cook bankruptcy on European tourism and set out measures to improve the protection of travellers with a clear majority.

News

Back

What issues and challenges will European consumer protection face in the coming legislative period? This question was addressed by a high-level event of the European Consumer Centres Network (ECC), which took place on 6th November 2019 at the Norway House in Brussels.

News

Back

In order to be able to use renewable energies to improve the use of renewable energy generation, which is associated with stronger fluctuations, the European Commission intends to channel demand more effectively by means of flexible electricity tariffs. From the Chamber of Labour’s point of view, these tariff models hide the danger of a “two-tier energy society”.

News

Back

For years, representatives of the new Member States have been complaining that some of the products available in Eastern Europe contain lower-quality ingredients that those, which are sold under the same name in Western Europe. A comprehensive investigation by the Commission has now confirmed the existence of different recipes in the Member States, but no general discrimination of certain European countries.

Publications

Back

Competition policy is an important part of economic policy. In an economic system based on a market economy, competition policy has to determine the conditions for a competitive framework which ensure that competition between economic players functions and anti-competitive behaviour is stopped and penalised.

 

 

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us

Helmut Gahleitner

Contact by email

Ulrike Ginner

Contact by email

Publications

Back

The CCD raised the overall level of consumer credit protection because key areas such as contract information were specifically covered by law for the first time. However, in order to place more importance on the effectiveness of consumer protection in practice, its provisions must be tightened up in some areas or additional rules introduced, for example regarding its scope and credit advertising.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us

Benedikta Rupprecht

Contact by email

Christian Prantner

Contact by email

News

Back

The mobile phone battery is the scourge of the modern world. Its short lifespan makes us desperately look for the charger when it is running out of juice. And it almost drives us up the wall when we can’t find the correct plug. This is particularly annoying for iPhone users: their devices can only be charged with Apple charger plugs. One wonders why?

Publications

Back

Virtually all sectors, institutions and digital users are affected by the innovative commercial potential of big data. Over time vast amounts of object data will become available for marketing and academic research, as well as purposes such as government planning and oversight, and will no longer need to be laboriously collected. By analysing user behaviour, standardised products, services and even prices can be customised.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us

Daniela Zimmer

Contact by email

News

Back

On 26th March 2019, the European Parliament agreed with a clear majority (579 Yes, 33 No, 43 abstentions) to the Directive proposal on collective redress. From the point of view of the Chamber of Labour and the European Consumer Organisation (BEUC), this development is an important step to strengthen the rights of consumers.  

News

Back

On 6th December 2018, the Legal Affairs Committee voted in favour of allowing Europe’s consumers to bring combined action if they have been damaged collectively. This is a positive development, which the AK very much welcomes. A very good result could also be achieved for Europe’s workers as regards cross-border conversions, mergers and divisions of companies.