Many EU Member States responded to the COVID-19 crisis and the queues at internal EU borders by relaxing their domestic driving times and rest periods. On 29 April 2020, the Commission has approved these exemptions for eleven Member States - including Austria. As a result, drivers in many States are permitted to drive longer hours and/or may have shorter breaks.