Nachrichten

Zurück

Am 2. Dezember 2019 sprach Christine Lagarde als neu bestellte Präsidentin der Europäischen Zentralbank erstmals vor dem Wirtschaftsausschuss des Europäischen Parlaments. Neben den aktuellen wirtschaftlichen Kennzahlen kündigte die Französin an, die währungspolitische Strategie der EZB erstmals seit 16 Jahren wieder einer Überprüfung zu unterziehen.

Nachrichten

Zurück

Am 26. November 2019 erhielt der designierte Ratspräsident Charles Michel Post: Ein gemeinsamer Brief der Allianz für Lobbying-Transparenz und Ethik-Regulierung (ALTER-EU) thematisierte das Lobbying von Konzernen gegenüber dem Rat. Die AK als Mitunterzeichnerin fordert darin tatsächliche Lobbytransparenz, so wie es unter anderem der Europäische Ombudsmann bereits vorgeschlagen hat und wie dies die Leitlinien der Kommission Juncker eigentlich vorsehen. 

Nachrichten

Zurück

Für multinationale Konzerne ist es aufgrund nicht mehr zeitgemäßer steuerlicher Vorschriften, daraus resultierender Schlupflöcher und mangelnder Transparenz möglich, durch komplexe Gesellschaftsstrukturen Steuern zu vermeiden oder zu hinterziehen. Diese Strukturen zu verstehen, ist selbst für ExpertInnen keine einfache Übung. Eine vom Europäischen Gewerkschaftsinstitut (ETUI) organisierte Veranstaltung zum Thema faire Besteuerung von Unternehmen nahm sich dieser Problematik an.

Nachrichten

Zurück

Das große Konzerne, vor allem Digitalkonzerne kaum Steuern bezahlen, weil sie ihre Gewinne in Steueroasen verschieben können, ist bekannt. Doch wieviel Geld verlieren die Mitgliedsstaaten eigentlich durch Steuerhinterziehung von Privatpersonen? Eine neue Studie der Kommission bringt Licht ins Dunkeln.

Nachrichten

Zurück

Mit dem Europäischen Semester versucht die EU, die Wirtschaftspolitik der Mitgliedstaaten besser aufeinander abzustimmen, um wirksamer gegen Wirtschaftskrisen gerüstet zu sein. Um speziell die Eurostaaten wettbewerbsfähiger zu machen, schlug die Europäische Kommission im Juli 2019 einen zusätzlichen Steuerungsrahmen vor, der die Reform- und Investitionsprioritäten für die Eurozone vorgeben soll. Aus Sicht von AK EUROPA geht dieser Vorschlag aber in die falsche Richtung.

Publikationen

Zurück

Die AK lehnt den Verordnungsvorschlag über einen Steuerungsrahmen für das Haushaltsinstrument für Konvergenz und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit entschieden ab:

 

Bereits die Grundlage des Steuerungsrahmens, das Europäische Semester, ist zu kritisieren. Die Länderspezifischen Empfehlungen stellen eine Aneinanderreihung von Forderungen dar, die vielfach als willkürlich, sachlich ungerechtfertigt und überdies sozial unausgewogen erscheinen und jedenfalls den in den EU-Verträgen verankerten sozialen Zielen bzw einer wohlstandsorientierten Politik zuwiderlaufen.

 

Für weitere Fragen steht Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung

Norbert Templ

Kontakt per E-Mail

Nachrichten

Zurück

Mitte Oktober fanden erneut Verhandlungen im Menschenrechtsrat der Vereinten Nationen zu einem verbindlichen Abkommen statt, das Unternehmen Sorgfaltspflichten im Hinblick auf die Einhaltung von Menschenrechten auferlegen soll. Die EU als solches hat kein Verhandlungsmandat und nimmt daher nicht aktiv an den Verhandlungen teil. Sie ist aber anwesend und hat in der Sitzung angekündigt sich mit der nächsten EU-Kommission unter Ursula von der Leyen dem Thema verstärkt widmen zu wollen.

Nachrichten

Zurück

Der Ruf nach europäischen Initiativen für mehr Steuergerechtigkeit ist nicht neu, der Weg dorthin hat sich bislang allerdings als steinig erwiesen. Das Thema war auch während der Hearings mit den designieren KommissarInnen ein Dauerbrenner. Dabei ging es zumeist um die Digitalsteuer, die auf europäischer Ebene Anfang dieses Jahrs gescheitert ist. Ein globaler Ansatz im Kampf gegen Gewinnverlagerungen und für einen Mindeststeuersatz auf OECD-Ebene steht in einer entscheidenden Phase und birgt Chancen.

Publikationen

Zurück

On a global scale, violations of human rights, labour rights and environmental rights in a business context take place every day. Human Rights Due Diligence (HRDD) is a way for enterprises to manage potential adverse human rights impacts of their activities. This includes assessing actual and potential human rights impacts - including through its value chain or subsidiaries, integrating and acting upon the findings, tracking responses, and communicating how impacts are addressed.

Für weitere Fragen steht Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung

Sarah Bruckner

Kontakt per E-Mail

Nachrichten

Zurück

Die EU braucht eine langfristige und aktive Industriestrategie, die den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt stellt – das ist die zentrale Botschaft, die der Präsident der Arbeiterkammer Niederösterreich und ÖGB NÖ-Vorsitzende, Markus Wieser, bei seinen Gesprächen mit hochrangigen VertreterInnen der EU-Institutionen betonte.

News

Back

Long before the official presentation of the European Green Deal, eyebrows were raised as to the funding of the mammoth project. On 14 January 2020 the Commission presented the financial plan for the green transition to MEPs, including an investment plan for a sustainable Europe and a mechanism for a just transition.

Publications

Back

District heating is, on the one hand, an important energy efficiency measure. On the other hand, it is an important infrastructure to increase the share of renewable energy in heating and cooling. However, there is no strong regulation in place comparable to electricity and natural gas from a consumer´s perspective: They generally are in a weak position with high infrastructure costs entailing high prices. Therefore, AK proposes a reform of the framework conditions of the local and district heating and cooling markets on European level.

News

Back

Particularly in the run up to Christmas, Amazon’s business is booming. Criticism of the tech giant appears not to have impact on consumers’ shopping behaviour -  the power of the company, based on dubious and anti-trade union strategies, is growing.

News

Back

On 2nd December 2019,  Christine Lagarde, the newly appointed President of the European Central Bank spoke in front of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs of the European Parliament for the first time. Apart from current economic indicators, she announced her intention to review the ECB’s monetary strategy for the first time in 16 years.

News

Back

On 26th November 2019, mail arrived for Council President-designate Charles Michel: a joint letter of the Alliance for Lobbying Transparency and Ethics Regulation (ALTER-EU) addressed the lobbying by corporations to influence the Council. In this letter, the AK as co-signatory demands actual lobbying transparency, which, among other, had already been recommended by the European Ombudsman and has actually been envisioned by the guidelines of the Juncker- Commission. 

News

Back

Outdated tax regulations, as well as loopholes and a lack of transparency resulting from it enable multinational corporations to avoid or evade taxes by complex company structures. Even experts understanding these structures is not an easy task struggle. An event organised by the European Trade Union Institute (ETUI) on the subject of sustainable corporate taxation addressed this problem.

News

Back

It is a well-known fact that large corporations, above all digital companies, hardly pay any tax because they move their profits to tax havens. But how much money do Member States lose due to tax evasion by individuals? A new study of the European Commission sheds light.

News

Back

The EU wants to use the European Semester to better coordinate the economic policy of Member States in order to be more effectively equipped against economic crises. In order to make in particular the euro states more competitive, the European Commission proposed in July 2019 an additional governance framework, which shall set the reform and investment priorities for the Eurozone. However, from the AK EUROPA’s point of view, this proposal goes into the wrong direction.

Publications

Back

The AK firmly rejects the proposal for a regulation for a governance framework for the budgetary instrument for convergence and competitiveness:

 

Already the basis of the governance framework, the European Semester, is itself to be criticised. The country-specific recommendations represent a series of demands which, in many cases, appear to be arbitrary, objectively unjustified, socially unbalanced and at any rate run counter to the social objectives enshrined in the EU Treaties or a wealth-oriented policy.

 

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us

Frank Ey

Contact by email

Norbert Templ

Contact by email

News

Back

Another round of negotiations in the Human Rights Council of the United Nations on a binding treaty, which shall impose due diligence obligations in respect of complying with human rights on companies, took place mid-October. The EU as such has no negotiation mandate and is therefore not actively involved in the negotiations. However, it is present and announced in the meeting that during the next EU Commission under Ursula von der Leyen, it would increase its attention concerning this issue.